New Feature
An A to Z of Randwick History

Randwick & District Historical Society Inc.

Founded in 1957 by Nell Pillars

R&DHS Logo
| Home | About | Contact | Join | History Articles | Links | Publications | Our Collections |

About Us

Randwick and District Historical Society Inc. was founded in 1957 and aims to document the history of Randwick City including Randwick, Clovelly, Coogee, Kensington, Kingsford, Maroubra, Malabar, Matraville, La Perouse and nearby areas.

The Society's Management Committee includes: President, Peter Kahn; Hon. Secretary, Hazel Brombey; Treasurer, Fiona Archinal; Vice-President, Judith Neville, and members: Greg Bond, Bob Diracca, Yvonne Jones, Georgina Keep, and Margot Phillips.

The Society has a modern centre on Level 2 of the Bowen Library at Maroubra which includes research facilities and material. It is staffed by volunteers who undertake research and administrative work and maintain its collections. The Society welcomes new volunteers to assist in its work.

The Society is funded mainly from the subscriptions and donations of its members and the sale of publications.

The Society is affiliated with the Royal Australian Historical Society and the History Council of NSW.

Fees & Charges:

  • Use of Research Facilities:
    • $5
    • Students, Concessions $2
    • Members Free
  • Photocopies: A4 - 20c, A3 - 40c
  • Reproduction of Photographs, Images and Objects: Medium Resolution digital images for personal reference use only: $10. Commercial use copies and high resolution digital images: on application.
  • Digital Copies of items, without a flash: 20c per page for printed items.
  • Research Fees: Research can be undertaken at $A20 per hour plus cost of certificates, photocopies and return airmail postage. Please send your research request and initial payment of $A20.00 plus SAE. Please include return mail address.
  • Mayor of Randwick, Councillor Kathy Neilson
  • Member for Kingsford-Smith, Matt Thistlethwaite, MHR
  • Member for Coogee, Majorie O'Neil, MLA
  • Member for Maroubra, Hon. Michael Daley, MLA
ABN: 70 012 812 514 - Not registered for GST

Constitution of the Society: Download a copy here.